What Does Block & Plank Mean In Construction?

What Does Block & Plank Mean In Construction?

What Does Block & Plank Mean In Construction?

In construction, the terms block and plank refer to two different types of building materials. Blocks are typically used for the construction of foundations and walls in commercial and residential buildings.

They are usually made from concrete or steel blocks and are often used along with mortar to bind them together into stronger structures.

Planks, on the other hand, are mostly used to construct roofs or ceilings as they provide a strong yet lightweight framework that is easy to install.

Both blocks and planks can be painted or stained according to the aesthetic desired by a client in order to make any project look aesthetically pleasing.

What Are The Different Types Of Planks In Construction?

The different types of planks in construction include single scaffold planks, double scaffold planks, cantilever scaffolding, suspended scaffolding, trestle scaffolding, steel scaffolding and patented scaffolding.

Single scaffold planks are generally used for brick masonry and consist of one plank resting on two supports while double scaffold planks are wider than the single plank but their overall length is shorter.

Cantilever or catwalk platforms are designed to bridge or span a gap where regular access is not available and contains a platform with guardrails for safety.

Suspended Scaffolding involves attaching the platform to multiple support points and can be used for reaching high places in a building.

Trestle Scaffolding is made up of several horizontal sections joined together by vertical frames and usually requires more setup time.

Steel Scaffolding has become popular in recent years due to its strength and durability while

Patented Scaffolding involves using specialized equipment or components that only certain manufacturers produce.

How Thick Is The Concrete Block Wall?

Concrete masonry units are typically 8 inches (203 mm) by 16 inches (406 mm) on the face and come in nominal thicknesses of 4, 6, 8, 10, and 12 inches (102, 152, 203, 254 and 305 mm), making a concrete block wall anywhere from 4 to 12 inches thick depending on the type of block used.

What Are The Four Types Of Hollow Concrete Blocks?

Hollow concrete blocks are an important element of modern construction. They come in four main types; Pillar blocks, Jamb blocks, Partition blocks, and Lintel blocks.

1. Pillar blocks stand vertically and are used to build the skeletal structure of a building’s walls from the ground up.

2. Jamb blocks are placed horizontally between pillar blocks to form beams, ensuring the load-bearing capacity of the wall.

3. Partition blocks can be placed either horizontally or vertically and separate rooms within a building.

4. Finally, Lintel blocks span openings such as doors or windows and carry their weight across them. Together these four types of hollow concrete blocks form a basic framework upon which any building can be constructed with ease.

Why Are Building Blocks Important?

Building blocks are an essential part of a child’s development, as they help them to learn how to take turns and share materials, create new friendships, become independent, increase their attention span, cooperate with others, and develop self-esteem.

Through playing with blocks children can gain problem-solving skills and fine motor control which in turn allows for the development of a creative mind.

By working together with other children on projects using building blocks, kids can also learn about teamwork which is essential for life outside of the playroom.

Building blocks are thus an important part of growing up as they promote healthy physical and mental growth in many ways.



Related Posts

error: Content is protected !!